First Impression

  • Released: 1st March 2016
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Pentland Music
First Impression is the début album from Chamberlain & Haywood.

Paul and Michael are exploring the potential of their instruments in a way that is exciting and engaging. They take the strength of each instrument’s traditions and blend them into their own unique brand of fusion music.
They aim to create a vibrant, intriguing and occasionally explosive mix of music that crosses cultural boundaries.
This recording features music from around Europe, Russia and South America, along with some traditional Scottish and own compositions such as The Lewis Chessmen, a suite of tunes composed by Michael.

Track List

1) Shalakho 3:18

2) Po Vijnë Krushqit / Gankino Horo 4:56

3) Tanti Anni Prima 6:32

4) Traces of Thrace 2:38

5) Hungarian Dance No 2 in D minor 2:52

6) Zikino Kolo 3:00

7) Afropean 2:46

8) Czardas 5:43

9) Gentle Giant Set 4:53

10) Chessmen Suite 5:01

11) Tango Pour Claude 4:16

12) Troika Set 5:41

Total time 51:37